basics to you not to me!

jtstretch

Recruit
im a noob to boating and wanted to ask some questions if you all wont mind. im looking at a boat right now and its got a volvo penta in it and also has a mark on the drive of DP cd trim. what is this and is this a good type of drive???? what should i look for when going to buy one????
thanx

QC

Supreme Mariner
Re: basics to you not to me!

Dp is duo-prop . . . not sure about cd. Picture? Year? Model? Horsepower? Boat? Volvos are excellent drives, in almost all cases. A little more info and we can help you even more, whether or not it may seem basic. You'll find us easy to get along with and not a lot of flaming going on here.

BTW, welcome aboard!!! :)

Maclin

Admiral

That is the drive I have, it is a very stout drive in my opinion. Parts are still available and it is very serviceable. One problem may be finding Volvo certified mechanics, they are not as numerous as Merc mechs in some areas.

It is a DuoProp model with two props that rotate in opposite directions and provides a whole lot of bite in the water, makes for good performers.

Just as all used boats it may not have been kept up with and may or may not be in tip top shape. A survey by a qualified surveyor or at least a look over by a mechanic you trust is in order. A test drive is a must also.

jtstretch

Recruit

its a 1991 chapperall sx 2300. its a 5.7L motor. not sure of the HP.

Maclin

Admiral

If the flame arrestor cover says 570 then it is 275 hp 350cid 4bbl. Very nice engine, and mated with the 290DP drive makes a very nice package, a very desirable setup.

QC

Supreme Mariner