1972 Johnson 85 hp outboard will not go forward in lake

mclark4642

Cadet
hey guys,

I'm a newbie and am pretty inexperienced with motors. I recently bought my boat (16' 1989 Cajun fish n ski if it matters) and took it out for the first time last weekend. Before I left, however, I started the motor with water muffs on, just to make sure I could get it to start, and everything sounded great and the prop would turn both in the forward and reverse directions, so everything looked good.

Question 1: When I put the boat in the water, I put the engine throttle in the "start" position to start it with no problems, however when I moved the lever into the "run" position I noticed that the engine idling speed dropped significantly, enough to kill the motor when I was in neutral. After restarting several times, I discovered that if I was quick enough to put it in reverse after putting the motor into the "run" position and give it a little throttle, then I was able to keep the motor running, so I guess my first question is do I need to check the idling speed of the motor since it seems to die within 5 seconds of idling in the lake? Please note that this did not happen when I tested the boat out of water when using water muffs and a garden hose.