3.o merc 130 runs perfect, but lost forward and reverse!

yjm3

Cadet
I `was crusiing at 30 knots or so after a long day on the river in my 88 chriscraft 130hp, 3.0 merc with alpha1 sterdrive and it felt like the propellor came off. a resultant loss of power and no forward or reverse. boat starts perfect and runs well. i heard no noises when this happened, the prop spins freely without binding and is not stripped off the hub.

boat now out of the water after a $600 tow!

i am thinking the shift cable or something of that nature? i am new to boats and sterndrives.

ps my tirm pump happened to crap out earlier in the day! the loss of forward/reverse and the subsequent tow was the icing on the cake!

any help much appreciated,
Tom

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 3.o merc 130 runs perfect, but lost forward and reverse!

Did it start overheating? May have lost the splines in the coupler. Look on the back of the engine where the shaft from the outdrive comes thru. Any metal savings?

yjm3

Cadet

no overheating. no metal shavings. no fluids of any type from eng or outdrive. n o noises. engine runs perfect.

the shifter was somewhat harder to move througout the day prior to this happening.

Don S

Check the gear lube for metal, if there is a lot of metal, pull the top cover of the drive and see if there are any teeth on the gears.

Don S

You can also disconnecty the lower shift cable from the engine and see if you can manually push and pull the cable and get the drive to go in gear.
Engine doesn't have to run, just see if the prop will turn or not.
PS: When in gear, the prop will turn one direction, but not the other. So try both.

rharry

Cadet

I had a the same problem. I found the drive shaft twisted off just above the gears in the lower unit. Some picnic but I fixed it myself. It sometimes needs special tools.

RHarry

imported_TheMan

Petty Officer 1st Class

What does it feel like when you try to shift now?