Looking for advice

UK2LA

Recruit
I am new to all this. I was going to buy a small place in Palm Springs as a vacation spot, then after looking for a while decide against it and thought a boat would be more fun. I am in the "looking for a boat" stage and like the 2008 Bayliner 245 Cruiser. Is this a suitable and good first boat. There is only myself and the wife, and we live in LA and plan to use it on the ocean and get a slip for it, at one of the mariners. Any advice much appreciated:confused:

gcboat

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Looking for advice

Nope - too much boat for a first timer. Look at something smaller to start with. Look at used instead of new. So you spend 50 K on a new boat and don't like the whole boating thing - then what?
Good suggestion for a new boating person would be to look into a "boating club". You pay XXXXX amount of dollars, can use any boat in their inventory, have no headaches as to maintenance, insurance, etc. Just gas and go!
If you just want to go for an occasional boat ride then it might be a good alternative for you. My .$02

ThePostMan

Petty Officer 3rd Class

My observations?

• Planning to use it off-shore. . .
  • You were "looking for a place in the 'Springs". . .
  • You live in LA and want to keep it at a marina. . .

From what I can tell, you can certainly afford it, and that 245 would be the SMALLEST boat at your marina, too. In fact, you can afford a lot more boat than the Bayliner (I'm a Bayliner owner, not bashing the brand, but there are better boats out there. . .)

In my opinion, you need MORE boat, and consider hiring a captain for a day of lessons, too. He or she can take you and the wife out on your boat, show you how everything works, give you the basics of navigation, etc. . .It would be well worth it to make sure you boat safely and enjoy your new toy!

UK2LA

Recruit