Child Overboard

medibird

Recruit
Although I am new to powerboats, I spent several years with canoes and other human powered boats. One day, many years ago, a girlfriend and I took her 4- and 5-year old kids out on a small lake in York, PA in a four-person rented paddleboat. The lake is a drinking water holding reservoir so, while you can fish and use human-powered craft, you can't swim. Being a stickler for certain safety points, I always wear a PFD in a canoe or paddleboat (easy to hit my head on boat/rocks/logs) and of course the kids had them on. My girlfriend was a good swimmer and the type I's looked dorky to her so she didn't wear hers. We were facing forward and pedaling away while the kids faced backwards behind us. I glanced back almost constantly at first, but after a while I got complacent and stopped looking at the kids while we talked.

All of a sudden there is a splash and the 5-year old was in the water! He's splashing around, we're moving away from him and I'm wondering how do we get him out. Stop pedaling, don't panic, I'm drowning a child because I stopped watching them, don't panic. Think, me: vest, better boat handler, stronger pedaler; her: no vest, better swimmer, knows hardly anything about handling a watercraft - in the girlfriend goes (with tossed PFD.)

So I come about, get it to drift to them sideways. That was interesting with pedals and a bit of wind, but it went quickly. I notice that a few fisherman on the shore kept on fishing and didn't make a move to try to help. It was also interesting trying to keep the younger kid in the boat while "steering" into position because he wanted to go "play" with his mom and brother. We get the kid in the boat and then discover that pedal boats are not really designed to be boarded from in the water. More fun.