Do I need to flush out engine

seaboss

Cadet
Do I need to flush out the engine after use in Lake George? Lake George is in North Central Florida near Ocala. Normally I would but I can't find the mechanism attachment for the hose. The lake is fresh water but I think has some degree of salt but I'm not an expert on this obviously. If anyone has boating on Lake George Florida let me know.

This boating forum is great!

marine4003

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Do I need to flush out engine

You should flush in salt use every time you go out,for fresh water use about every 10 trips,in brackish water 1/2 that,make sure all your zinc's are in good shape.

seaboss

Cadet

You should flush in salt use every time you go out,for fresh water use about every 10 trips,in brackish water 1/2 that,make sure all your zinc's are in good shape.

Your saying to flush in fresh water every 10 times? Is that what you meant?

What are zinc's?

marine4003

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Yup, just as a preventative measure,every ten times i cruise the waterway,i flush the motor,it cant hurt. salt you want to flush EVERY time,salt is the major engine killer.Zinc's are sacrificial anodes attached to the motor that protect it from corrosion...Read here -http://www.boatus.com/boattech/casey/23.htm

what is your boat/motor/year?

seaboss

Cadet

Yup, just as a preventative measure,every ten times i cruise the waterway,i flush the motor,it cant hurt. salt you want to flush EVERY time,salt is the major engine killer.Zinc's are sacrificial anodes attached to the motor that protect it from corrosion...Read here -http://www.boatus.com/boattech/casey/23.htm

what is your boat/motor/year?

The boat is 2008 SeaBoss 21' bay.

Oh yeah, I know what the zinc's are now. They are fine.

It's a new boat and I get so damn nervous about taking care of it because of the 96 monthly payments!

marine4003

Lieutenant Junior Grade