1997 Mercury Force 75 HP 2-stroke, general questions

Jae

Cadet
First I would like to say that this site has been extremely helpful for a newbie such as myself. I've managed to change the impeller, lower unit gear oil, plugs, tested my thermostat and was able to get the pee valve to finally start pissing water. I know it might not seem like much for most but I had not one clue as to what I was doing so this site rocks!!! Anyways I'm still learning and have a few questions just to ease my mind on a few things. BTW this motor has been idle for 5 years and started up on the 4th try after all the changes. I was told it only has 30 hours on so I'm pretty excited that this motor will last me a long time if I take care of it.

My first question is pretty silly but is this motor a Mercury or a Force? When ordering parts which company do I search under? When I ordered the impeller I know I originally got the wrong one and had to get the other one. Of course I don't remember which one was what. My feeling is that it is a Mercury motor. Any clarification on this would be great.

My second question is again pretty silly but when looking at the motor from behind the boat... there is a 2" long by maybe 1/2" wide opening just below the engine cover. I want to verify that this is an exhaust and water isn't suppose to be streaming out of this hole. (I have a pee valve to the right of this that pisses water out so I'm assuming this other opening is exhaust only) Again any clarification on this owuld be great.

My last question is when I have the muffs on and the motor running water is coming out of the propeller, vents above the lower unit and other areas. Is this normal? I run the engine for 10 mins and the motor has yet to get hot so I'm assuming the water flow is doing its job. I just want to make sure I'm not missing anything and blow the motor.