Evinrude 6202 6hp motor - 2 stroke or 4 stroke?

blinx78

Recruit
Hello,

I'm new to the boating world. I'm renting out my buddy's lakehouse and he has a little aluminum boat with an Evinrude 6hp motor. The model # is a 6202. I don't know much about boat motors... but i know if it's a 2 stroke, it needs pre-mix and if its a 4 stroke, it doesn't. I don't want to run the wrong fuel in it...could someone help this clueless city slicker out? THANKS!

-Kylie

JamieScott

Cadet
Re: Evinrude 6202 6hp motor - 2 stroke or 4 stroke?

Hello Kylie

I'm also new to the boating world so you're not on your own! iboats forum it the place to get help though so well done for finding it.

To see if it's a two stroke engine (which I imagine it is) take off the engine cover. This should be fairly easy to do. (On my outboard on the back under the top of the engine is a leaver that you slide across and then you can lift up the cover). Once it's off then have a look to see how many spark plugs you can see. The plugs have the electrical leads running from the top of them and are sticking out of the engine. If it only has two plugs then it's a 2 stroke engine and as you say you will need to premix outboard 2 stroke oil into the fuel. If this is the case you will need to make sure that you mix the correct amount of 2 stoke oil into the petrol. My outboard which is a Johnson 6hp takes a mix of 50:1 (fifty parts of petrol to one part of 2 stroke oil.)

Someone more experienced than me will be able to tell you the exact mixture of 2 stroke oil for your motor so you don't make any mistakes.

Have fun on the water!!

Jamie

Vic.S

Rear Admiral

If it only had two plugs then it's a 2 stroke engine

?????????????????? the number of plugs is not an indication of whether it is a two stoke or not. Until fairly recently the vast majority of outboard engines where in fact 2 strokes irrespective of whether they had 1, 2, 3, 4, 6 or even 8 cylinders and plugs to match!