tach problems

mauimike

Cadet
hey guys. I have a 1981 johnson 60 two stroke with electric start. The tach has not worked since i got it. i tried changing out the tach with no improvment. I inspected the rectifier and found the red wire completely smoked. Ichanged this out and ran the motor on muffs. The tach zeros when i turn the key on and does spike when i start the motor but does not read anything while running. It's a faria tach that i have ste at 4 which is what a manual i pulled up said it should be. The batteries were charging with the old rectifier. i hven't checked with the new one yet.

From what i have been reading on older posts it sounds like the problem is still with the rectifier because the tach does zero but doesn't track with motor rpms. what would take out a rectifier like this?

Reggie08

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: tach problems

I'm no expert, but my service manual says for 2-stroke motors, the tach should be set at "6". Have you tried that setting?

Barnacle_Bill

Admiral

Since the output (red wire) from the rectifier was smoked, there is a very good chance that the rectifier is toast. Common causes are a bad battery, loose/dirty connections. And if you ever hooked up a charger to the battery backwards, even for a split second, the rectifier is toast.

mauimike

Cadet

I actually checked both rectifiers just for the hell of it and they both checked out good. I also tried bypassing the wiring harnes with jumpers and i still cant get the tach to track with the motor. Where does the signal originate from?

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner