onboard battery chargers

dyers78

Seaman Apprentice
I am looking at getting a 10 to 12 amp dual bank. Looking at Minn Kota, Promariner and Guest. The Promariner seems to have a bad rep for failure. Any input or personal experience on any of these? I like the Distribute on Demand feature of the Promariner but I don't want a piece or crap either?

Thanks

Barnacle_Bill

Admiral
Re: onboard battery chargers

I've been using a 3 bank BPS XPS (made by promariner) for several years and have had no problem with it.

rndn

Commander

I have a 3 bank 5-5-5 from Bass Pro and love it. It can send more juice to one battery if needed.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

Guest has an excellent reputation. I used to think that the "distribution feature" was a great thing but I read an article published on one of the battery sites and again in a boating/fishing magazine that this is not necessarily a desireable feature since the charger may not "fully" charge its primary battery before switching to the shared battery. Wish I had saved jotted down the links and magazines but I didn't. Is it a huge issue? Hard to say. I did buy another Guest for my new boat.

dyers78

Seaman Apprentice

Upon looking at the BPS 5/5 it's a pretty decent deal. The distribution sounds like a good feature. States it charges the batteries faster??? Is the 10 amp 5/5 models enough? I kind of like the Promariner Pro12 (12 amp) I try to get out maybe 5 times a year, I am by no means a professional fisherman. More of a weekend warrior when time allows.

Also, every review I read about chargers, people seem to always have issues with just about every brand but Guest. I found a Guest 5/5 on clearance for like $79. That verse about $115-$125 for other brands. Can anyone offer any more info on something that have heard or had? I would like to order something this weekend.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner