9.5 Evinrude shear pin mystery

danacman

Seaman
Hello to all,

This is my first time here, awesome site.
I bought a 1968 Evinrude 9.5 hp recently and took her out 2 weeks ago for the first time . The motor runs good but I thought it would have a little more power than it did (jon boat 12' x 36" -2 guys and gear) Anyhow, I was tinkering with it and removed the prop just for giggles. The shear pin was broken in three pieces and was wondering how it ran seemingly ok and brought us back to the dock. I did notice that it pulled a little to the left (away from me). Is this normal for it to pull to one side?? Could the broken pin still been biting in somehow or should I notice increase power with the new pin?
Thanks guys

jtexas

Fleet Admiral
Re: 9.5 Evinrude shear pin mystery

welcome to iboats!

here's the thing - 12 ft jonboat is harder to run on plane than a 14, not sure why exactly, but it is. with a 14, she'd plane out & move on down the lake. try redistributing the weight forward a bit, maybe move the fuel tank up to the middle.

Also, since it's new to you, it's hard to judge just how much power to expect. couple things to try that might improve performance:

make sure you got fresh fuel (87 octane), the right spark plugs (champions) gapped properly, prop in good shape no dings or rough edges, the anti-ventilation plate even with the keel, maybe move the trim rod out a hole or two, rebuild the carburetor and water pump. Lighten the load as much as possible. 50 lbs makes a noticeable difference in that rig.

And a compression test and spark test.

I believe that when the pin breaks, the prop freewheels, so you must've had a piece or two in just the right place to make it spin.

F_R

Supreme Mariner