200hp evinrude stopped cranking

LightningKeith

Recruit
Hi guys! I'm new to the forum, and I thought maybe you guys can help me. I have an older boat with a 200hp evinrude 2-stroke. (I think its 1977). Anyway, had it out on the water yesterday and everything was running fine... until I noticed that when I went to start the motor, the starter wouldnt crank. I tried it a couple times, and played with the key until it cranked again. I figured it might be the ignition switch, so I replaced it today, but the motor still wont crank. (However when I push the key in I cal clearly here the choke solenoid). I have tested the battery, and everything is fine on that end. I'm thinking it could be the starter/solenoid or maybe some type of safety switch? I'm new to outboards, so any ideas are greatly appreciated.

Note: I'm not sure if there is some type of reverse safety switch or something, but I was in reverse when I gave the motor some gas and it died. After that it doesnt crank at all. I'm not sure if that is a coincidence or if it has something to do with my motor not starting.

Thanks!
Keith

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 200hp evinrude stopped cranking

Howdy, Keith.

Welcome to iboats. :)

By far the most common cause of your symptoms is a poor connection in the cabling for the starter circuit or a corroded cable.

Take all of the connections of the large wires from the battery to the engine off, clean them carefully and replace. The worst offender is where the ground cable from the battery is bolted to the engine block. Tight and "looks okay" are not good enough. It takes less than one ohm of resistance in the circuit to cause your symptoms.

Dawgs

Petty Officer 2nd Class