New guy...help?

I just bought a 1987 four winns 16ft with a mercruiser four bagger 3.0L. The Most of the Problems seem simple the coil is shot as well as the cap and rotor, plugs, wires are all the same. The previous owner said that it ran fine when it was parked four years ago except when he turned it made like a knocking noise. I don't have any clue what would cause that in a boat. So if any one could help it would be very helpful. I am a pretty good truck mechanic but I am new to the boating world.
Thanks,
Jason
PS: where is the best web site to buy parts?

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: New guy...help?

Most likely cause is water in the bellows causing the ujoints and gimbal bearing to go bad. After 4 years, and all the corrosion I have seen happen after setting, you may not even have much to work with. Especially if it was in salt water.
Time to pull the outdrive, do some looking and posting some pictures of your findings.
Here is a link the the OEM service manual for that drive. Just scroll down to the outline page and click on the section LETTER you want to open.

http://www.boatfix.com/merc/Servmanl/6/6covr3.pdf

Ed R

Petty Officer 3rd Class

It sounds like the gimbel bearing has rusted up from siting, pull off drive and replace bearing. Ed r

MikDee

Banned

I agree with Ed, that's usually the sound a worn out gimbal bearing makes, I'd check that out. At the same time, you'll be able to check out your u-joints once you pull the drive off, like Don says.

Bondo

Staff member

I agree with Ed, that's usually the sound a worn out gimbal bearing makes, I'd check that out. At the same time, you'll be able to check out your u-joints once you pull the drive off, like Don says.

Ayuh,.......

That would be a Whole Lot Better than an engine Bearing Knock......

Cheaper,+ Easier to Fix too......