Electronics Advice (please post!)

I am looking to get a trolling motor, battery, speakers, car stereo(with water proof cover, should work right?) and light for my 14' jon boat. I have a '73 6 hp evinrude 'fisherman' on it that is manual start. So i was wondering if i am just using this battery for my trolling motor,light, and stereo should i just get a deep cycle? What is the best battery of the cheap ones? And what charger should i get? Do the batterys last while your out on the lake then you charge them when you get back? Or does the charger store some energy then you hook it up on the lake? I am new to all of this so please help. I am confused on this because my outboard doesnt have an alternator? Oh and what kinds of wireing should i use?

Thanks to all that help.

JCF350

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Electronics Advice (please post!)

Get a Deep cycle (not a dual purpose one) BCI group size 27 or 31 should last pretty much all day when fully charged provided you don't use your trolling motor a lot. Charge it when you get back in, no your charger will not store a charge for use on the water.
Good and cheap are mutually exclusive terms.

American Wire Gauge (not SAE) for sizing. for a diagram use some or most of this one by Silvertip
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=186986

rndn

Commander

Make sure you get a charger that is intended for charger deep cycle batteries. It should have s selector switch for charging starting and then deepcycle batteries. You should also get an automatic charger that will reduce and then finally shut off charging once the battery is fully charged. This will help to avoid overcharging your battery. Batteries are expensive so it's important to take good care of them.

PondTunes

Petty Officer 1st Class