Does Size Matter?

Grizzlybear

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Just had my engine serviced (Mercury Outboard 50hp 2 stroke) The chap suggested I change the propeller as it was kinda beat up. I am new to boating so took his advice. I was given a spare propeller when i bought the boat, so we replaced it with that. I just noticed that the replacement prop was just a fraction smaller than the beat up one we took off. Will I notice a massive difference in performance with a smaller propeller? Advantages disadvantages?

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: Does Size Matter?

No way of knowing the answer to that one without running the boat with a tachometer, normal load, and speedometer (GPS is better).

Grizzlybear

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Sure thing... but the rule doesn't go that a smaller propeller would provide less propulsion therefore less top speed and/or acceleration? Or is my thinking a bit to obvious there?

rndn

Commander

Running with a prop that is not right for your boat can cause serious expensive damage. You'll need to provide the information requested above for assistance. Do yourself a favor and don't just assume it will be okay.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Putting a prop on a boat/engine package is like putting on new shoes, Griz. If it doesn't fit the package you will have trouble.

Go to the Prop Forum and get an education on finding the right prop.

BF

Lieutenant