Will an improper trim cause a motor to overheat?

toadfuss

Cadet
I'm still new at this water craft stuff and I'm wondering about setting the trim and whether I have been doing in correctly.

I've set the motor parallel to the back of the boat which is a small 10ft aluminium boat and I usually have a 5hp or smaller motor on it but I'm trying out a heavier 9.9 Sears Ted Williams/Eska on it.

If I go at an even low speed my impeller pumps nice and I can go for a bit before it starts warming up and eventually stalls. Went I go at a quicker speed the back of the boat tilts down a bit and the motor heats up fast and koncks out. I don't have any trouble with my other motors.I replaced the powerhead and impeller over the winter and the motor runs well in the backyard barrel but out in the open sea I'm wondering what is up.

I'm not a skinny guy and I usually put some weight in the front of the boat to sort of level things off when I'm alone, but the back still goes down abit.

Would adjusting the trim cause the motor to run better and not overheat?
Is the motor too big for the boat?

I await your experienced opinions. Thank you.

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: Will an improper trim cause a motor to overheat?

I seriously doubt that is the problem. If anything you are mashing the back of the boat and motor down deeper into the water. Overheat problems come when it isn't deep enough.

Stop running that thing till it siezes. That'll ruin it. Find the problem and fix it.

redfury

Commander

How does the new motor sit on the boat? The antiventilation plate should be flush with the bottom of the boat. It sounds like yours is above it and you are starving the water pump once you get going.

Check the motor on the boat. The "fin" on the lower unit should be even with the bottom of the boat. If it is above it, you may have a short shaft motor on a long shaft transom. Might just be that simple.

toadfuss

Cadet