20hp merc 200 pull start not engaging

eubbie

Recruit
Hey everyone, I'm really new to the whole boat motor mechanic thing. I have a problem with my mid 70's 20 hp merc. The pull start is not engaging and turning over the engine. The rope broke on me, and I replaced it, after that, the pull start would more often than not engage, but now it has almost completley quit. I did get it to engage twice tonight, but finally gave up on starting it. I can't seem to find a clear diagram of the pull start, and even if I could I wouldn't know what could be wrong. Does anyone have any idea what could be causing this? The rope comes out and goes in no problem, but its not catching on the flywheel when its pulled. Any thoughts and suggestions would be great.

Laddies

Banned
Re: 20hp merc 200 pull start not engaging

If you removed the wheel from the starter housing then the friction washer is either installed improperly or the shaft is loose if you did not remove the wheel either the grease on the dogs and friction washer is old and hard or has dirt contamination

eubbie

Recruit

All that I had off was the pull start assembly. I'm guessing by wheel you're talking about the flywheel? What is the friction washer? I am sorry this is so vague, I am such a a noob with these motors, but this is something I can tackle if someone can tell me whats wrong.

Motor Boater Bill

Chief Petty Officer

I think Laddies is referring to the wheel the rope winds up onto, not the flywheel. If you didn't dissasemble a bunch of tricky parts replacing the rope (it can be done without disassembling but it's tricky) then as Laddies says it may just be old hardened grease--I've encountered this also. You might try some WD-40 on the pawls and see it that makes a difference. If it does, try to clean out as much of the old grease, wash it out with WD-40 or PB Blaster and regrease. Good luck!

bass_assasin

Cadet