1992 evinrude 200xp problems

v8etr

Seaman Apprentice
I recently bought a bass boat with a 1992 evinrude 200xp I went to the lake earlier this week and it would not get on plane :( . I looked at it when i got home and there are 3 clylinders that have no spark ( bottom starbord and top and bottom port side). I dont have a manual yet. I checked the compression and all were right at 95lbs. I checked the grounds on the powerpack and the coil grounds and cleaned them, I also swaped one of the working coils with a non working one and the same cylinder had no fire. I recently installed a carb kit also. I don't know what else to Any help would be much appeciated.

Thanks

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 1992 evinrude 200xp problems

swapping the coil leads me to power packs, but i am no expert on the large motors.

v8etr

Seaman Apprentice

Could it be the stator? I am thinking either the stator or the powerpack, but I'm no expert.

Thanks

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner

Do you have access to a DVA meter?

Taken from http://www.boatpartstore.com/page35.asp

No fire or intermittent on One Cylinder:

1. Check the timer bases resistance from the white wire to the blue, green and purple wires. Reading should be approximately the same on all (Typically 1 to 2 M ohms). If the readings are off, reverse the meter leads and retest to see if the readings straighten out.
2. Check the DVA output from the timer base. A reading of at least 0.5V or more from the white wire to the blue, green and purple wires (while connected to the pack) is needed to fire the pack.
3. Check the DVA output on the orange wires from the power pack while connected to the ignition coils. You should have a reading of at least 150V or more. If the reading is low on one cylinder, disconnect the orange wire from the ignition coil for that cylinder and reconnect it to a load resistor. Retest. If the reading is now good, the ignition coil is likely bad. A continued low reading indicates a bad power pack.