Prop for Force 85

4runneradam

Petty Officer 1st Class
Its almost time to take the boat out, and I need a new prop.

I'm new to boating, never changed a prop nor do I know how to identify the one on there. Its a 1985 Bayliner Capri 16' with a 85 Force. What is the stock pitch, blade count, and spline setup? Should I stick with the stock setup? I mainly just cruise around with anywhere from 2-5 people onboard.

Any tips on finding a inexpensive prop? Id love a stainless one, as I bent my aluminum one out on the river last season. But I know they are expensive. Hoping to find a gently used one. I just need to know what to look for.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: Prop for Force 85

Look no farther than right here on iBoats. Click on the "Marine Store" button right under the iBoats.com logo at the top of this page. Scroll down to propellers. Enter the year, make and HP of your engine and they will list the various available prop. Look on the barrel of the prop for numbers. 12x17 means its a 12 inch diameter 17 pitch prop. If you see one that's 11-3/4 or 12-1/4x17P it would be ok to use. Diameter can vary a little. You should stay with the same pitch if you are satisfied with performance and the engine revs to it maximum recommended wide open throttle rpm with an average load. I guess I should point out the numbers I referenced are an example, and not necessarily what your engine currently has. There is also no "standard" prop because the manufacturer doesn't know whether the engine will be installed on a barge, pontoon, fast hull, work boat or what so its the selling dealer or boat manufacturer that packaged the engine made that decision.

4runneradam

Petty Officer 1st Class

Thanks! That helps a lot! But I think I want to go ahead and get a SS prop, and I diddnt see any listed.

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner

Standard Michigan props. 15 splines 3 blade aluminum or stainless. Choice of 13 diam X 15 pitch, 13 X 17, 13 X 19, and 13 X 21.