Looking for insight on used boat issues- pumpkin damage

Hardo

Recruit
Hello, I'm new to this forum.

Just bought an 1986 Sea Ray Monaco 17ft with 170 4 cyl; I have to get the lower portion of the outdrive repaired (previous owner drug it down driveway and ground a 2 inch hole in front of pumpkin).

my questions to this body of folks are:

- I have a quote of $200 to fix hole; is that reasonable?

-any knowledge on the 170- is it a good motor or does it have a bad track record?

-Any gotchas I need to be aware of for this engine?

-how about the boat- any known issues?

cooter2506

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Looking for insight on used boat issues- pumpkin damage

What is it a Mercruiser, volvo Penta or an OMC that will help these guysd give you some ideas

PINESOL

Petty Officer 3rd Class

pumpkin damage ? :confused:
i have never heard that term .. but im new to boats .. my initial thought was
200.00 seems fair .. my second thought was did it fall off the trailer ?

oh and by the way ... welcome to iboats ..

Hardo

Recruit

Pumpkin- I mean the housing for the prop- the skeg attaches to it.

The outdrive is a Mercrusier I believe

Hardo

Recruit

outdrive on boat- boat was drug down driveway while on trailer attached to car/truck I presume..

PINESOL

Petty Officer 3rd Class

thats what i thought .. i have heard of third members on trucks considered as pumpkins .. just never on a boat .. essentially same thing they both house the gears ...
so , is there anyway you can get some pictures of the damage .. that will help everybody determine if the $200.00 quote is in range ..
as for the boat most of these sea rays in this vintage are notorious for soft spots in the floor ...

as for the engine ... ? still not sure what you have ..
put some info of your boat in your signature .. it will help ..
we need specifics ..

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

-any knowledge on the 170- is it a good motor or does it have a bad track record?