73 Lane Project or Trash?

Yammerhead

Cadet
Looking for some advice from those who have experience with repairs like this. I bought the boat in the winter with the hopes that it didn't need too much work. I kind of liked this looks of this thing and it didn't seem too beat up. Once I dug into it however, I found the floor to be soft. I ripped up the soft area and found significant rot in that area. I then cut out a big piece of the floor and found that the stringers were also rotted badly. Now I'm stuck wondering if I should pull the motor off and haul the rest to the dump. I'm new to fiberglass repair, but would like to learn how to do it. I've searched and read enough to think that I could takle the fiberglass work as long as it isn't already too far gone. Looking at the pictures, do you think I can get away with cutting in new stringers? I'm not wanting to invest the time to take the boat completely apart and stripping it right down. Can you glass in new stringers beside the old ones? The hull is showing some spider cracks. I'm assuming that is because of the weak stringers. What's involved with fixing the cracks as well?

Any advice would be appreciated....:(

Attachments

• IMG_2488_1.JPG
    IMG_2488_1.JPG
    82.3 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2490_1.JPG
    IMG_2490_1.JPG
    70.5 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2499_3_1_1_1.JPG
    IMG_2499_3_1_1_1.JPG
    92.7 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2502_1.JPG
    IMG_2502_1.JPG
    78.9 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2556_1.JPG
    IMG_2556_1.JPG
    76 KB · Views: 0

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 73 Lane Project or Trash?