Motor shooting water

Exhorter

Recruit
Ok I feel like a complete idiot because I don't have a clue what to ask you. First I am a newbie with boats, and motors. My wife probably knows more than I do. I purchased a used pontoon boat with a 1999 Johnson 50 HP. When I put it in the water last weekend the motor ran great for the first 20 minutes. Brought it in took it back out and it seems that it was different. For some reason I could only push it to half speed. Each time I would try and open it up it would bog down on me. I had a few friend take a look and they all told me the same thing. The motor has been sitting up for awhile so there might be trash in it. Get some STP and run it and try and get any dirt out. I have done that and it runs ok when it is only half way open, but when I try to run it faster it bogs. Now today I took it out and I noticed that water seemed to be just shooting out from the motor in all directions. The water comes out the back of the motor where it is connected to the boat by some opening it looks like. If your are looking at the motor from the back of the boat it would be where the motor connect where onto the boat There is an opening it looks like with a flap. Water does not come out of that when I am just riding along at a slow or medium pace but when I open it up the water begin to pour out through that opening. It then goes back into the lake from what I can tell. The water splashes all the way up the side to where the cover connects and protects the motor. It just seems like there is way to much water going in different directions at the back. So any idea??????? I am sorry but I just know nothing about motors. Unsure about where to even take it to for service without getting taken to the bank. I live in Conroe Texas which is about 50 miles north of Houston. As I said the motor runs good and it starts right up every time, but can't run it open at all, and I know that much water should not be shoot up and running in different diretions.