water running out my spark plugs

bassin4me

Cadet
1985 Mercury 115 hp stacked 6. water is running out of the spark plugs. What is the damage?

JesseNKim

Cadet
Re: water running out my spark plugs

sounds to me like a cracked block but im no expert like i said no expert i mean powerhead lol i believe when they crack it could leak water into cylinders

cannonford57

Petty Officer 1st Class

probably just a cooked waterjacket gasket..nothing serious

bassin4me

Cadet

How do you replace it and what could have caused it?

Several things can cause it. A bad case would be a worn wrist pin making the piston wear sideways through the clyinder wall. A good inspection and COMPRESSION check is first in order. How the engine was running right before it filled with water is a clue.Hate to say it but be prepared for a big buck repair unless you can do all the work yourself which isnt recomended to be a first time project.better to get another one first.

yorkserv

Seaman

I ran into this problem with my 1988 engine I was not able to get the engine to run any higher than 4400 rpm and there was light water spots on spark plug of cylinder #3 well I ended up pulling the heads once I completed compression check I was getting about 120 psi on all cylinder except the one with the water on plug when i pulled the head plates did inspection of the cylinder and I had a pin hole in the cylinder going through bore into the cooling jacket. I was told that I can re sleve the cylinder and then the engine would run unbalanced or rebuild the engine well needless to say I now have the engine for sale if anyone wants to work on this awesome engine that I am attached to 1988 200hp blackmax.

I am not saying that this is what is happening with your engine but it is something that you can check good luck let us know what happened

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner