Motor Stalling

mudcatwilly

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 1990 Suzuki DT85 and this has been a long standing issue in the two years that I have owned the boat. It takes at least a dozen times to start and idle when cold starting. When it does start, it then idles for about 20-30 seconds, then dies. It runs fine when the boat is moving, but even with the motor warmed up, it dies when I slow down to idle. It always stalls when I shift from neutral to forward or reverse unless I really slam it into gear.

I have the three carb adjustment screws uniformly turned about 1 3/4 turns out. I ran two full cans of Seafoam through about 6 or 8 gallons of fuel and there has been no improvement. The fuel line and fuel filter is new. I have brand new 4 AWG battery cables (not that it matters). I have not attempted to adjust the idle because I have not learned how to do that yet. For what it's worth, the boat has no tach, but the idle seems low to me. I am no mechanic, but I am willing to starting taking stuff apart if need be. Please help.

mudcatwilly

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Motor Stalling

If I could get one reply that might give me a starting point, that would help. Thanks

bowhuntrrl

Petty Officer 1st Class