Bennett trim limit or retractor?

DrD

Seaman
I have very little experience with Bennett trim tabs. What limits the extremes (full up and full down) to keep the hpu from running past the endpoints, if the helm switches are engaged too long?

How does the Bennett automatic retractor work? Is it just a timer relay that energizes the retract wiring circuit long enough to raise the trim plates? If so, installing would only amount to getting in series with the "bow up" circuit of each switch, correct? (as opposed to installing anything at the hpu or trim rams).

Thank you,

-Dale-

burp

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Bennett trim limit or retractor?

"What limits the extremes (full up and full down)" ....the mechanical travel limits of the trim tab cylinder.

The auto trim tab retractor is pretty much a black box. I suspect that you are correct on it being a timer relay....but it is connected in parallel not series.

DrD

Seaman

"What limits the extremes (full up and full down)" ....the mechanical travel limits of the trim tab cylinder.

Do you know what happens at the end of the mechanical travel limit? If you continue to hold down the switch, will the trim tab mechanism find an electrical cut out switch, or pump bypass? Currently, I don't have indication on my boat to tell fully retracted status. I don't want the trim tabs to try to overun the traveler, until they self destruct; for example.

I dry stack the boat, and so I need to be sure they are retracted when ready for the barn. It is difficult to see them when in the slip, and so I can't always be sure they are fully up.

It seems like the Benett ATR would only need to connect to the helm switch, and so might be a very easy install. (No wires to run back to the transom, etc.)

Any specific info would be helpful. Thanks.

-Dale-

burp

Petty Officer 1st Class