1981 Evinrude 140... Complete Rebuild

brettagostini

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hello.

If you have an excellent memory you may remember that I was tearing apart an long-disused 1981 Ev. 140. I've been stalled for a couple of months because it took me that long to find a welder and then a machinist to fix the craced part of the cylinder. Well, I've finally gotten the block back, and now I am back with more ridiculous questions.

Please bear in mind I have NO mechanical experience and NO live bodies to talk to for advice.

Well, my first questions are below. Thanks for any help you can give me.

First, I know I need rings, both for the pistons and for the crankshaft. Should I just replace ALL rings automatically? There are two or three that are broken, but I don't know if I replace one, should I replace all?

A follow up question... I've found the rings at this link:

http://www.crowleymarine.com/brp_parts/diagrams/14542.cfm

Items number 9 and 20. The crankshaft ring lists at $9.95. But the piston ring set lists at $34.95!?!? Is that for one set, or all four?? (I'm hoping all four!!) And how do I determine which of the Part 20's listed is correct for me.

Next question.... I'm ordering the manual at this link to help me with re-assembly. I'm sure it will answer many many questions for me. I just want to verify that this is the correct manual, in your opinions. (My Model # is E140TRLCIM)

http://www.marineengine.com/parts/p...=Service+Manual&Engine=392306&Model=140TRLCIM

Last Question... Thingamajigs and whatchamacallits... Things like rectifiers, ignition coils, power packs, etc... How do I tell if these things are still in proper working order? I'd love to be able to check them and replace them if necessary before reassembly. (Will procedures for checking these out be in the manual I'm ordering??)

I've got another set of questions about honing and re-installing pistons... but I think that needs to wait for another time.