how to use tilt correctly?

spacerust

Petty Officer 2nd Class
i'm new to boating...just got my first...but i want to make sure i learn to do things correctly. how to you use the tilt? the guy i bought the boat from told me to tilt all the way down until i get on plane. but i don't know exactly when you would tilt up...when you are in shallower water? any help? please.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: how to use tilt correctly?

Well, that's a good start.

Once you get on plane trim the engine out until it is just short of porpoising the boat or ventilating the prop. Your speed and rpm will increase until you reach this point, then either the prop will start sucking air and over-revving the engine or the bow will start to hop up and down.

When you have found the ideal trim you can back off the throttle to your preferred cruising speed.

Bon voyage. :)

spacerust

Petty Officer 2nd Class

thanks. i'll practice that next time i am out on the water.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

There are two things that will tell you when you are trimmed properly for the speed you are going and the load you are carrying. 1) the seat of your pants and 2) The noise from the water. When properly trimmed the boat gets what you might call a "happy feeling" about it. Things smooth out and rush of the water seems to diminish dramatically.

backwater dawg

Petty Officer 2nd Class