Transom getting rotten, need to replace

frosteeone

Seaman
What type of wood should be used to make a new one? I have a 14' Lowe, aluminum, semi hull that's at least 20 years old. 9.9 mercury.

I imagine I can just unscrew the old one and use it as a template for a new one.

I heard of something you guys refer to as marine plywood.

I'm just looking for shortcuts or how to avoid doing something stupid (like not putting it back on correctly and losing my engine).

I've been doing this for a few years, but I only get out on the water 6 or 7 times a year.

Thanks
Jeff in St. Louis.

dcg9381

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Transom getting rotten, need to replace

Marine plywood is better than normal plywood... It doesn't sound like you'll have a terrible time replace the transom on that boat.

You might check into a marine composite though - it'll never go bad.. Depends on what your budget is. Many boats are 100% wood free these days.

oops!

Supreme Mariner

pressure treated plywood is the norm for wood transoms....

marine grade hust has less interior voids and is dryer...

if you wse pressure treated you will also need to use special screw's for the ply....

if the transoms all there...use it as a template

cheers
oops

tmcalavy

Rear Admiral

Is this a full transom, side-to-side, top-to-bottom? Or is it a transom pad, ie. wooden panel bolted to the stern. Either way, I have used exterior grade ply in both situations with good luck. How you seal/waterproof it is your choice; paint, resin, or resin/glass. Some on the forum say that pressure treated ply will react badly with aluminum...don't know, never been rich enough to spring for pressure treated or marine grade ply.

frosteeone

Seaman

Thanks for your responses.

Sorry, I haven't lifted the cover in awhile (cold/snowy) so I was posting my question from memory (47 yr old memory?fading, too many beers).