Clueless, Foot removal ((((HELP))))!

wildmaninal

Lieutenant Commander
Alright I'm mechanically inclined but never had to tackle a foot removal until now. More book smart then hands on on some fields of boat restoration and outboard repair. It normally doesn't take me long to figure something out. My motor is a 1978 Evinrude 85HP, model number is 85890C. I believe this is my first time ever having to post a thread on the Johnson Evinrude Outboard repair forum.

I want to replace the impeller and possibly the seal on the impeller housing depending on how that looks. I can't for the life of me figure out why this foot won't drop off. I am missing something big time here. I looked at the BRP website again, scratching my head now lol, still don't know what I might be missing. I already have the impeller (all $56 worth), and gear lube (which is quicksilver).

How do you go about disconnecting the shift rod, is this what is hold the bloomed thing in place?

Then I found that my trim tab (located above the propeller) is bent and cracked like the previous owner backed into something maybe (like a stump).

How expensive is it to replace the trim tab?

Any other input such as sealant on any part or check this while you got it down advise would be appreciated also. This motor hasn't been ran for a long period of time in several years, I already noticed that bees have made a nest in the exhaust ports. I'm so close to having this boat finished, I only like one other electrical thing to tackle before I have it on the water, and do a shake down test.

Thanks

Wildmaninal

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: Clueless, Foot removal ((((HELP))))!

The shift rod disconnect is below the lower carburetor. Follow the shift lever and you will see a small cast aluminum lever on the other end, with a hex head bolt/pin that connects it to the shift rod, moving it up and down as you shift. Remove the pin.