River Scum

eedwards

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I would like to keep my boat in the water for weekends during the season instead of pulling it out from my dock every night, but if i leave it in just fro a day i get i nasty scum line on the up river side.
Is there anything i can put on to make this easier to clean off when i do pull it out?
I'm new to boating but I'm sure just like automotive allot of the stuff out there for sale is garbage.

TilliamWe

Banned
Re: River Scum

There is a product called Super Slick that you can apply that will help. It's a wax like product that you apply very thick, then leave it on. The stuff will grow to it and you can brush it off in the water and even reapply it in the water. But it will wear off the bottom of you boat and that's gonna be the most important part to keep clean.
The real solution to your problem is anti-fouling bottom paint. Trust me, it's the best thing if you want to keep your boat in a river in Illinois.

eedwards

Petty Officer 2nd Class

There is a product called Super Slick that you can apply that will help. It's a wax like product that you apply very thick, then leave it on. The stuff will grow to it and you can brush it off in the water and even reapply it in the water. But it will wear off the bottom of you boat and that's gonna be the most important part to keep clean.
The real solution to your problem is anti-fouling bottom paint. Trust me, it's the best thing if you want to keep your boat in a river in Illinois.

I will have to remember that paint when i redo the boat next winter.
my neighbor has a problem that he gets a white kind of film on his out drive that wont come off so he repaints all the time.
I blame it on all the boats on the chain of lakes up river from us.
I say with as many boats running up there allot of stuff must be coming down river.

ziggy

Admiral

my neighbor has a problem that he gets a white kind of film on his out drive that wont come off