Buying a used boat

danoelise

Recruit
Hello,

I've seen several threads where individuals are seeking advice on type of boat, inboard/outboard, etc. I am just beginning this process and I would like to know more about getting a used boat inspected before purchase. What should I be looking for? Are there professional services that perform these inspections? What about engine compression tests should I know? What title concerns should I have? Are there any books available that describe the process start to finish?

Thanks for any and all advice!

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Buying a used boat

Buying a boat

1st you need to decide what you want to use it for, fishing, cruising, or water sports.

2nd how many people adults, children you want on board of the average outing.

3rd outboard, inboard-outboard, or inboard power plant.

4th Budget, what you want to pay, and what you are willing to pay, when you find
Exactly what you want.

You can hire a marine surveyor, to inspect the boat, or you can do it yourself.

You are mainly looking for soft spots in the deck, transom, cracks, all signs of a rotten, under frame.

The motor should be clean, no spots where the paint is discolored, or pealing from heat, having run hot. Compression should be atleast 100psi, and within 10% of each other,

The overall condition of the boat will tell you a lot, as to how it has been maintained.

A 30 year old boat motor combo, may be in better condition, than a 3 year old.

danoelise

Recruit

Ok -

Let's just say that I want a ski boat. Water sports 90 % - fishing 10%.

7-8 people max.

I'm not particular about inboard/outboard (I know about the great debate here, but I'm not picky)