1984 85 HP runaway engine

Reboot11133

Seaman
I am new to boating and recently bought a 1984 Bayliner with a 85 Hp Force OB. The motor is very difficult to start. When I get it going by manually applying the automatic choke (cover off) it revs up like it is set to self destruct. I shut it off immediately to prevent damage. The linkage just seems to have 2 cables one for the transmission and the other for throttle control. There doesn't seem to be any way of operating one independent of the other. There is no seperate throttle. I read postings of people revving the engine in neutral but to do that I would have to take the cover off the engine. Am I missing something? All linkages are fine and appear to be working properly. Is ther something I should be looking for that would cause this engine to flood or rev way to high on starting?

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1984 85 HP runaway engine

I suppose the person from whom you bought the boat did not bother to give you rudimentary instructions. --Just as an aside, when I sell an engine, I include about two typewritten pages of instructions AND go over starting procedure with the buyer.--

To start the engine for the first time a simple but important procedure must be followed:
1. pump the primer bulb in the fuel line until it is firm, indicating that the carbs are filled
2. Depending on your control, either push in the center rubber button and advance the throttle lever as far as it will go --or--pull out the control handle about 1/4 inch and advance it as far as it will go. This puts the engine in fast idle position in neutral and will allow it to rev up to about 1500 rpm for warm up. Sounds fast but really isn't. The engine is normally run between 5000 and 5500 rpm at full throttle.
3. Turn the key to start position while pushing it in to choke. Release when the engine starts.