Outboard wont start

skyfish

Cadet
Hi, I'm new to outboard repairs, recently bought 1975 evinrude 50 hp on haines hunter 1/2 cab. Engine was working fine but I replaced impeller and subsequently engine now wont start, starter spins and engages flywheel but wont kick over. Is it possible that wrong impeller direction could prevent engine from starting, any help would be appreciated:confused:

1730V

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Outboard wont start

I doubt your impeller replacement did anything. However, check for a fuse near the cylinder head/solenoid area. It is in a container that looks like a regular wire connector. It is a short buss (glass) fuse. You can substitute a long one for testing.

skyfish

Cadet

I remember looking at the small fuse and thinking that it looked ok, but I will take your advice and try with replacement fuse, will let you know, thanks CPO

JCF350

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Drop the lower unit back down and retry the starter.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner

I have had that 20 amp fuse blow a few times on me while changing an impeller, wish I knew why. However, it would never turn over while the fuse was blown, which yours is doing. Did you disconnect your battery while servicing lu? Have you checked voltage across battery, should be 12.65 volts.

skyfish

Cadet

Hi Seaman, I will give that a go as well, will try anything at the moment, thanks

1730V

Chief Petty Officer

I have had that 20 amp fuse blow a few times on me while changing an impeller, wish I knew why. However, it would never turn over while the fuse was blown, which yours is doing. Did you disconnect your battery while servicing lu? Have you checked voltage across battery, should be 12.65 volts.

I assumed "kick over" meant nothing.

ALWAYS disconnect the battery when working on the engine. If that fuse pops it usually pops the rectifier too. Not always but usually.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner

I think JB outlines it best, as described in the FAQ post.

Outboard Wont Start: