60hp chrysler

Steve Mahler

Petty Officer 1st Class
From my research it looks like there are different 60hp chryslers - the 'good' 3cyl and the 'bad' 2cyl....does the model number identify which this is below?

Model # is 609HA Ser# 2569

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: 60hp chrysler

I don't find a 60hp 3 cylinder but I am missing 1968 specs.
Your number is a 2 cylinder 74,75,76.My info doesn't pin point years.My 3 cylinder specs beginning in 69 indicate 70 hp is the smallest 3 cyl.,66 and 67 3 cylinders were 75hp.Again I don't have 68 specs.
I'm no Chrysler expert but::I would think the 3 cylinder motor has more potential for problems with the 3 cylinder distributor on some of the motors.
The solid state type ign. systems on all the Chryslers can self distruct when proper trouble shooting procedures are not followed.
Some of the solid state parts are no longer available.

JCF350

Lieutenant Junior Grade

I don't find a 60hp 3 cylinder but I am missing 1968 specs.
Your number is a 2 cylinder 74,75,76.My info doesn't pin point years.My 3 cylinder specs beginning in 69 indicate 70 hp is the smallest 3 cyl.,66 and 67 3 cylinders were 75hp.Again I don't have 68 specs.
I'm no Chrysler expert but::I would think the 3 cylinder motor has more potential for problems with the 3 cylinder distributor on some of the motors.
The solid state type ign. systems on all the Chryslers can self distruct when proper trouble shooting procedures are not followed.
Some of the solid state parts are no longer available.

The 60hp was a 2 cylinder. There problem was that the power head wasn't strong enough for that much power, same power head as the 45s and they were at their limit at the 45hp rating.