Chimney problems

SS MAYFLOAT

Admiral
I've been heating with wood for the last 4 years. (haven't bought fuel oil since 9/04 and still have about 110 gallons. I sweep my chimney every year and inspect it while I'm at it. This year doesn't look good for burning my wood. I really don't want to use the oil since it has more than doubled since I bought it last.

It has a clay tile flue. About 4 tiles down, they are cracked lengthwise and protruding inwards in the flue. I plan to put a stainless liner in, but with the tiles sticking out, it won't allow me.

I'm thinking about using a spud bar and prying out the old tile. I'm just a bit worried that this is going to weaken the exterior brick surrounding the flue. With the tile being out, it will allow me to get the extra clearance needed for the liner and insulation.

I'm half tempted to tear down the brick chimney and put up Metalbestos. It would be an extra headache of removing the old clay liner through the clean out door in the bottom of the chimney. It is only about a 10"x10" door. My wife likes the looks of the brick chimney and says she wouldn't like the looks of the metalbestos ones. I tend to agree with her, but I really need to act on this matter soon. Money is very limited now and I didn't need this to happen.

Any ideas or thoughts would be appreaciated....Thanks......SS

newbie4life

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Chimney problems

Take this with a grain of salt:

I (Like you) like the idea of a stainless chimney... but, if you say it won't fit... it won't fit.

Up here, we have a guy that basically blows up a liner, then pours a 'concrete' substance around it. It's been working great for people that he's done it for. I'm not familiar with the product, just through hear-say.