top speed on 18" Lund

muleskinner

Recruit
I don't seem to match what others are claiming on an 18' 2002 Lund Fisherman w/ 150 Hp Merc EFI V-6. I have a 14"X17 pitch prop but only get 43MPH and the RPM is only 4900 WOT at an altitude of 3200'. I should be 50 MPH easily and I am running light. I am new to this rigg and expected more from it. If I drop the pitch I will loose even more top end speed. My motor also growels when I back off wide open. Does any one else expierence this?
Thanks for your input, Muleskinner

oops!

Supreme Mariner
Re: top speed on 18" Lund

im no expert but .....
a few things to check....
1. the weight of the boat against manufacturers specs,
2. your leg gear ratio. have a real leg mech that knows the type look at it.
3. a different style of prop. 14 seems very low for a v6 4.3 my guess is a 19 would be about right. thats why the gear ratio is also suspect!

was it a new or used boat?

Paul DuLaney

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I,m running a 2004 Merc.150efi on a 2001 Tracker Q3 ski & fish. My rpm is 5400 (= or-200) at 55-59 mph(21P Trophy plus prop) depending on temp and humidity.My boat is glass and yours is Aluminum I would think it would be faster?With the prop your running i would think that your rpm's,would be a lot higher. How long does it take to get on plane and when was the last time you de carbed and replaced the plugs? Sorry oops this is not an io but a ob, hope this helps muleskinner, P. D.

muleskinner

Recruit
Re: top speed on 18' Lund

Re: top speed on 18' Lund