Help needed - Trouble shooting Merc. Mariner 115. I'm a shade tree car mechanic and..

MagicNumber

Cadet
Have a 115 mariner say about a 86 or 87 model. Came on a game warden boat bought from Nashville, TN govt auction about 8 years ago. Used by my friends Dad and then sat for last 5 years.

We have done the following tune up/prep items:

- replaced water imepller
- rebuilt fuel pump and check valves
- new plugs
- new wires
- new fuel line to tank and primer bulb
- replaced all 6 coils
- rewired a few corred wires that were from stator and also on harness to coils.
-

the motor runs but has a 'stall' or 'stutter' for lack of a better name. It idles fine for a minute - then next may display the stutter. You can rev it and hear it stutter. Once under load it will not get up to full rpm when on the water. Feels like a fuel problem, however, will occasionally run OK. Seems to be a combination of what I would call (if it were a car) a fule starvation or ignition issue.

We have verified fule pressure at and after pump is within spec. Carbs look clean and are all getting fuel. We rplaced the coils when one tested to be lower on spark output then others.

Any ideas?

GOD BLESS!

john

CharlieB

Vice Admiral
Re: Help needed - Trouble shooting Merc. Mariner 115. I'm a shade tree car mechanic a

Did replacing the coils cure the 'weak spark'?

Re-insulating stator wires is a touchy subject. 200+DVA can be hard to contain without perfect seal, any arcing/shorting and you have a 'missing spark' on one or more cyl's

Testing with a DVA meter proves good/bad, no doubt.

Download the troubleshooting manual, follow links at www.rapair.com

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner
Re: Help needed - Trouble shooting Merc. Mariner 115. I'm a shade tree car mechanic a