Mercruiser TKS vs Traditional Carby

EasyC

Recruit
Hi All,

In the market for a new boat. Looking at what my budget can afford. My friends are telling me to stay clear of Carb engines due to the problems they have had over the past ten years. I am looking at a few boats with the Mercruiser engine (Towsports) which has TKS. Why should I consider this in todays realm of technology, as I have seen my friends suffer so much in the past. I am not technically minded and dont want any hassles, but cant afford the step up to the black scorpion range. Why is TKS good and how can I convince myself and them that it is ok to buy. Thanks. All I know is what I have read in the brochure about it. I need to know more.......:confused:

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Mercruiser TKS vs Traditional Carby

TKS (Turn Key Start) is nothing more than a primer system similar to what is used on carbed outboards for starting purposes. The rest of the carb is the same. Just a lot of extra stuff to go wrong. instead of just the automatic choke.
Not sure what problems with carbs in the last 10 years, that your friends have been having, but basically the only problems carbs have is dirt and water. Keep clean fuel in them and they work fine for many, many years.
If your friends don't like it, have them GIVE you the money for an EFI upgrade.

John_S

Rear Admiral

Don't like adjusting and maintaining a carb, then go MPI. No need to go to a Black Scorpion.

PS: TKS is just for people who don't what to pump the throttle per carb starting requirements.

JustJason

Vice Admiral

easyc said:
My friends are telling me to stay clear of Carb engines due to the problems they have had over the past ten years

hmmm.... carb engines don't have problems... people have problems remembering to change filters.

180shabah

Rear Admiral