78 mercruiser 228

suzuki0702

Cadet
hey guys first post! i searched hi and lo for the best boating forum and here i ended up!

ok so i bought this boat off a buddy of mine. he was begging me for months. well it needs some work. heres a list ive gotten together so far.

bellows
flywheel
gimble bearing
carpet
little bit of wood and some tlc

so it turns out the ring gear is off the flywheel. how much have i bit off here. i know the motor needs to come off but i cant even find the parts for this thing. this is my first boat overhaul. the guy has the whole prop assembly off the boat. its a mercruiser 228. i have the engine serial number, but cant seem to get it to corespond with any parts. what am i missing here?? i dont know how this bottom end goes back together! is there a clymers or haynes manual? im just learning what the bellows are but am still unclear about that. i read i need a special tool to remove the gimble bearing and then i need a special one to install it. im feeling a bit overwhelmed. any help is appreciated!!

Haut Medoc

Supreme Mariner
Re: 78 mercruiser 228

Welcome to iboats.....:)
Merc manual # 6 will work for most of your needs with respaect to your drive.......
Click on the lettered setions on page seven to download the section that you want to view.....
Here is a link to a free online manual.....:)
http://www.boatfix.com/merc/Servmanl/srvcovr.pdf

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,.........

Isn't the 228 a SBC motor,+ a Mod.1 outdrive,..??..??....

If so,..... The Ring Gear is a piece of Cake,......
It's either a 12" or 14" Chevy Ring Gear......

i read i need a special tool to remove the gimble bearing and then i need a special one to install it. im feeling a bit overwhelmed.

Those "Special Tools" are a Slide Hammer to Remove it,+ a BFH with a block of Wood to drive it back In........

hey guys first post! i searched hi and lo for the best boating forum and here i ended up!

Ayuh,.........
Atleast you got That part Right................;)

MikDee