Heron Bass Fishing (Like in Great Blue Heron)

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner
This is my first time here in the fishin section so howdy all.

This is long but I think it will be informative reading for you and I hope you enjoy and are enlightened by it.
----------------------
I have a farm and on it is a 2 acre pond/lake/pool/tank or whatever you choose to call it.

The last two years were terribly dry and last year most of the thing dried up killing a lot of really nice fish that have been in there (stocked several times) for a long time; some as long as 15 years. I've caught Black Bass over 7# and cats over 12. The corpses were many, large, and the vulchers had a field day......and the stench......yucko.

I saw an ad in the local paper recently where a fish hatchery truck was to be in our area and decided to invest in some fish. One of my concerns was poachers who have hit me pretty hard over the years.....the two legged kind. I went to the hatchery site, where I was going to order some fish, and came across a lot of info including info on predators, in particular (for me) the Great Blue Heron.

We have 3 or 4 Great Blue Herons that frequent the farm ponds around here and these are mature birds. I knew they poached fish, but had no idea as to how large, nor their nocturnal nature.

One day I found a dead Black Bass on the bank of about 2 lbs and figured the two legged poacher missed picking him up on his way out one night.....little did I know the Heron is a 24/7 feeder and after seeing the page referenced below, a Heron must have caught the bass but couldn't swallow it.

I ran across this site in looking up info on this "Federally Protected Poacher".

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Heron-Bass-Fishing-01.jpg

If it doesn't take and you want to see something hard to believe just go to the wikipedia site and look up Great Blue Heron then scroll to the bottom of the page where a dozen pics exist....check out the one in the top row with the 3 lb bass in his mouth.