Refinishing Mahogany

drewpster

Commander
I need some advice on what would be the best way to refinish the bulkhead in this photo. I was told it is mahogany. The original varnish (?) is coming off and the light patch is where I hit it with a sander. Can I sand this down and simply re-varnish it? Or is there a better way to go?

102_2119.jpg

drrtydog

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Refinishing Mahogany

Well i dont know much about boats but im a painter and if it was me i would do just as you said sand it down. Then find some varnish and put some coats on it there are a few to pick from in the store section of this site.

freddyray21

Commander

It can be sanded, but be careful. It might be veneer on top of some other material, plywood ect. Sometimes it is best to use a little laquer thinner and a green scrubby to clean the old varnish and stain off. Then sand very lightly and restain or varnish ect.

thunderroad

Chief Petty Officer

Definitely do the lacquer thinner/green scrubby thing that Freddy suggests. I'd bet money that those are some sort of laminate or plywood with a mahogany top layer. It would be very easy to sand through the top layer, especially around the edges. That old varnish usually comes right off with lacquer thinner. Then just put some clear on it. Mahogany is beautiful wood, IMO.

Solittle

Fleet Admiral

Also don't use regular varnish. Use marine grade spar varnish. It has UV (from the sun) inhibitors. Use many thin coats rather than one thick one.

drewpster

Commander

You think it could be vaneer? The boat was built in 1969. Could be I guess. I removed a support from the forward berth and replaced it with marine ply a couple of years ago. The wood looked to be the same as the rest of the cabin and it was solid. It was a support piece, un-finished, and was out of site so I used the ply. Would it have been common in those days to use vaneer?