Prop only turns 1/4 rotation

bradj

Cadet
When I turn the key to start the starter engages but can not rotate the engine. Shifter is in neutral position I try to hand turn the prop and it only rotates about 1/4 turn. It will not make a full rotation. It does not rotate in any gear also.
I am new to this outboard motor mechanical stuff; any help would be greatly appreciated. It is a Force 120 1996 model.

Thank you for any help.

bradj

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: Prop only turns 1/4 rotation

Most likely the starter or starter connections.Be sure all connections are clean and tight.Especially the main starter and ground wires.Don't forget at the battery.Most likely the starter gets real hot real quick.
It is normal for the prop to rotate 1/4 turn by hand in gear.You are not likely to move the motor by the prop.In neutral prop should rotate
freely.You may have to rotate prop to shift with the motor off.
You can remove the starter and have it tested at a place that does starters and alternators etc.You will probably find it needs a rebuild or replacement.

QuadManiac

Petty Officer 1st Class

Can you turn the flywheel by hand? (igntion off, of course)

thelightning

Cadet

if shift handle is in neutral and u cannot rotate the prop there is something wrong with the shifting gears in the tail

QuadManiac

Petty Officer 1st Class

if shift handle is in neutral and u cannot rotate the prop there is something wrong with the shifting gears in the tail
Without turing the engine over, can he be sure he IS in neutral? Takes some rotation of the entire assembly to engage/release the clutch dogs.

Try turning the flywheel by hand. This elimintes the possibility of a seized power head, and should force the clutch dogs to disengage when the lever's in neutral.

bradj

Cadet

No, fly wheel does not turn by hand or starter. Checked linked seems o.k. Connection of linkage in engine area is moving when I move throttle.

eurolarva

Rear Admiral