Evinrude Lark 30HP

Finster

Cadet
Hello everyone. I have joined a couple boating forums asking questions, but to no avail. I am going to try here.
I was given an old ski boat from my grandmother along with many stories of what her and my late grandfather would do. I decided that I am going to restore this boat and take her for some rides. She is getting up there.

I am new to boats but can tinker ok. I understand manuals and will be able to complete this with a little help.

The boat is a traveller and is equally as old as the engine. The boat is coming along nicely with hours of sanding and polishing chrome.

The engine is another story, this is what I know:
It is an Evinrude Lark
I am not sure of the model or year as when I looked over the engine I was only able to find a serial.
My friend stated he was really good with these engines and I gave it to him. Well he took much of it apart and then left it for dead. I came and picked it up, put it back together and fresh plugs, and fuel it started right up. I have decided I will work with this engine. Now after buying a new cable for the throttle/Gear shift I find that the part that allows you to attach the cable to the gear shifter is now missing (sigh).
Here is a pic of what I am talking about:

Gearshift.jpg

In addition I looked all over the engine yesterday in order to find a model as I would really like to locate a manual for this engine. All I was able to find was the serial and that is below as well.
Serial.jpg

The number is serial 25525-17012

The engine looks like this
wholeengine.jpg

I guess my questions are as follows.
Can anyone give me any insight as to where I can find a model number?
Can anyone help me to find a manual?
Does anyone own this engine that can help me to locate a part supplier for the gearshift?
Any help would be appreciated.

Found a picture of it below

lark.jpg

THANKS

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Evinrude Lark 30HP

Howdy, Finster.

Welcome to iboats. :)