Tohatsu 90MA wiring question

tchljhbcm

Cadet
Newbie here, be gentle... here goes... the story begins with...

Have twin tohatsu 90, 1996 model year, with morse MT-3 twin cable control, on an old Glacier Bay LX220. The port neutral safety switch fell into pieces on the deck recently, so looked up the part number on the teleflex website for an MT-3, ordered the part (305499), and installed it. The new part looked just like the one in the MT-3 manual with two terminal connections. Problem is, the old switch that came out of the MT-3 had one extra wire that is now just hanging there, haven't got a clue what it does, or should do... Did Tohatsu require some special wire for some reason? What am I missing here without the wire in the circuit, anyone care a guess?
I seem to have start-in-gear protection on both sides with the new switch installed, the only detectable difference being that when I put the starboard in gear at the control head and then turn the key to the on position, I get the horn/buzzer, where on the port side I do not (engines not running). If I try to connect the extra wire to one of the other two leads with the handles in the neutral position, the starter kicks in gear with the key in the on position, so I just left it unattached, and everything seems to work fine... I think???
Looking at the side of the remains of the old switch, the third connection is labeled "NO" which I assume means normally open.
Riddle for inquisitive minds who want to know, what's the effect of just leaving this now "extra" wire unconnected? Do I really need to go searching for this "Tohatsu" three lead microswitch?
:confused:

TOHATSU GURU

Admiral
Re: Tohatsu 90MA wiring question

Contact Tohatsu Technical at 214-420-6440 and they will explain it to you.

tchljhbcm

Cadet

Thanks!!!

Very helpful folks at Tohatsu technical... just making sure it's safe out there...
:D

tchljhbcm

Cadet