Engine oreintation when trailering

mystro

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Approx what angle should an outboard be trailered at, I'm new to this outboard and aluminum boat stuff. :)

WillyBWright

Fleet Admiral
Re: Engine oreintation when trailering

Whatever angle it takes to prevent busting off the skeg on a bump. Ground clearance is the determining factor.

tmcalavy

Rear Admiral

You can buy or make a transom saver...an arm that cradles the outboard on one end at your chosen angle and the other end braces against your trailer. Keeps the motor from bouncing up and down and putting undo force on the transom...very handy item and good peace of mind while you are trailering the rig down the road.

Cricket Too

Lieutenant Commander

It's usually whatever angle your trailer lock holds the motor at, assuming you have one, most do.

I would also reccomend some type of set up to keep it from bouncing, I used to use a ratchet strap around the lower unit and then hooked to the trailer and tightened down, a lot less stressful when you hit a bump and see your boat bouncing around in the rear view mirror.

They also make actual transom saver units, that go by the same name. They are an actual arm that will connect to both the trailer and lower unit of the engine.

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner

Back when I had OB's without trim I used a 2x4 between the midsection and the clamp bracket to rest the engine on, then a bungie cord to keep tension on it.

At that time they also had a metallic U shaped hootus that you could flip up and use the "reverse tilt lock" clamp to hold the engine on it which I used on one rig that I recall.

When I had an I/O I used another hootus type thing that hooked onto the top of the transom and into the top of the outdrive. This was very important since with an I/O there is no counterbalance like with an O/B's powerhead. Surely didn't want to rely on hydraulics. Besides I couldn't see the outdrive's position from the tow vehicle.