1975 Evinrude 135 carberator jets

seifer

Cadet
I have a 135hp Evinrude that was running too lean, I took it to a shop and the mechanic their bored out the jets; now it's running to rich. Also today I found a small kink in my fuel line that the mechanic didn't even notice which is why the engine probably seemed to running too lean. Any way my question is where can I buy new jets for my engine? Are they by any chance part of the carburetor kit? I kind of want to take my carburetor appart and clean/ rebuild it now anyway, any suggestions?

It seems to stall a lot when I give it power from idle; I?m hoping the small kink was the issue. And now it also is hard to start, I?m thinking the engine keeps flooding due to it being too rich.

Thanks,
Daryl

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1975 Evinrude 135 carberator jets

The jets would be available thru a Evinrude or Johnson dealership. They are not part of a carburetor kit.

seifer

Cadet

I've never done this before, but from what I can tell my engine has an upper and lower carburetor, does this mean that I have to buy 2 carburetor kits, or does the one kit accommodate for this? I also take it that I have to buy two upper and lower idle jets (two of each), two floats ect... I hope I'm correct on this, I'm just not sure about the kit since I haven't seen anything saying what the contents of the carburetor kit is (I take it that it's all the common seals needed).

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

the kit is for 1 carb, jets, floats not included. but you float is plastic and should be fine.

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner