Green Pool

RC

Petty Officer 1st Class
Went on vacation last week and came home Saturday night to a very green pool. I'm new to pool ownership (bought in Feb) and I know there are some experts here! Sunday morning I shocked the pool, Sunday afternoon I put in algecide and today I put in a water clarifier. I also made sure the chemicals are right. The pump has been on all day Sunday and all day today and I've been cleaning the filter cartridge every 4 or 5 hours. The clarity is improving but it's still green. Should I expect this to take 2 or 3 days to get back to normal?

Thanks

eurolarva

Rear Admiral
Re: Green Pool

How big is the pool and is it inground or above ground? Do you have a chlorine test kit? If so how many ppm are you reading. An algicide will not help. The purpose of that is to control algae before it happens. You should take a water sample to a reputable pool store and have them test it. If you are reading about 4 ppm on the chlorine you are going to want to get it up over 20 ppm to kill the algae and bacteria in the pool. You can still swim at these levels however in order to determine how much chlorine you are going to need to use to do the trick will come from your pool supplier. What you want to do is kill the algae first then use the clarifier to remove the dead bacteria. Do you have a sand filter or a canister type?

RC

Petty Officer 1st Class

Pool is about 18k gallons and an inground. Filter is a cannister type. The chlorine test is giving me a fairly normal reading of between 2 and 3 ppm. Good idea to take a sample to a pool store. I'll get that tomorrow. Thanks for the advice.

Boomyal

Supreme Mariner

Forget the pool store analysis. They will try to sell you powdered 'Shock it" or equivalant. Buy 4 gallons of 17?% liquid pool chlorine, dump it in, keep the filter running all nite and the water will be crystal clear in the morning. You'll have to vacuum the bottom. Unlike with powdered products, your filter will contain it.