fuel in the oil?

dport

Recruit
I have a Nissan 25hp 4 stroke EFI, and without looking I think it is a 2002. I purchased it used last year and this will be my first full season with it. I believe it has seen a good deal of sitting until late last year. The previous owner said he was the original owner and claimed he had less than 40 hours on the engine. I have replaced the water pump, the lower gear box oil(last year and this year), spark plugs, fuel filter, and I changed out the oil last year when I first got it, but I had not yet changed the oil this year. I had put about 20 hours on it last year, and was going to change after another 20 hours.

So I went to check my oil before I set out for the first time this season. (I know, I know, I'm very late.)

I took the dipstick out the oil started gushing out. As I was cleaning up the mess I noticed the oil had a strong smell of gasoline. I had never noticed that before, and while I'm an outboard newbie, I know that that's not good for a 4 stroke engine. But, I checked the smell of new oil just to make sure it wasn't a smell characteristic of the oil itself. It wasn't. So I drained the oil, figuring at the very least that I'll need to change the oil.

Is there a most likely cause for something like this? Are there any known issues? I can't think of any common areas for fuel an oil other than where the fuel pump mounts. Any ideas?

Thanks!

TOHATSU GURU

Admiral
Re: fuel in the oil?

The first year for EFI is 2007 so........I'm sure you have a carburetored model. Fuel in the oil is common on all, four-stroke brands andmodels to some degree, depending on the environment and usage. Change the oil every 50 hours and don't worry about it.

Skinnywater

Commander

The first year for EFI is 2007 so........I'm sure you have a carburetored model. Fuel in the oil is common on all, four-stroke brands andmodels to some degree, depending on the environment and usage. Change the oil every 50 hours and don't worry about it.