ford taurus problem

cyber-bill

Seaman Apprentice
this is a 1992 taurus that is presently killing the battery when the car sits still for some time. After charging the battery I found that the interior dome and door lights do not turn off . I checked the switches at each door and they seem to function ok. The dome light has 2 rocker switches and will not turn the dome light off when switched. I have temperally removed the battery cable untill I can figure out the problem, but so far no luck.
Any one have a idea what can cause this problem of lights not turning off?
Bill

Boomyal

Supreme Mariner
Re: ford taurus problem

This is a wild guess cause I am not an auto electrician but it might be a bad alternator diode causing juice to go up the ground side of the light wiring.

Trent

Captain

Been a long time since I worked on that system. My mind seems to tell me there is a little black box under the hood. I think its located about the middle of the front of the car. Just behind the hood latch. Remove the flat plastic cover and the box is under it. Unplug it and see if the problem goes away. This is the timer for the light delay circuit. I seem to remember the lights will work when unplugged but no more delay. Let me know if im right??

jimr

Senior Chief Petty Officer

your dimmer switch didn't happen to get turned all the way on to turn on the interior lights did it?

cyber-bill

Seaman Apprentice