House boats

capinjack

Recruit
All,

I'm new to the whole boating thing and found this place on a google search. So first of all greetings to all!

My wife and I were kicking around the idea of living on a boat for a while. We would be interested in a sail boat type (yes I'm that new that I don't even know the different technical types of boats) that will fit us comfortably for this situation. (i.e. small kitchen, shower, toilet, bed, small living space etc.)
We live in the DC/VA area so I believe there are areas to keep the place docked. My questions are: what type of boat is recommended for this? Are there sail boats that meet this requirement? Is it wise for such a newbie to take on such a task? What are downfalls or pitfalls to this type of lifestyle that others have found? Should I start with a small boat and learn how to control it well or will just being well educated and careful OK?

I anxiously await responses and in the mean time I'm off to read the sticky for new boaters!

Thanks

Capin' Jack

WillyBWright

Fleet Admiral
Re: House boats

Welcome to iboats. :)

A sailboat of that size is not for rookies. It'll scare you to death and your experience will not be a good one. Learn how to sail first in something under 20'. You would be better off with a cabin cruiser or a houseboat. They are a thousand times easier to keep under control. If you can drive a truck, you can operate either of those. But you have to know the rules. Google US Power Squadron, USCG Auxiliary, and Boating Safety online courses.

The difference between operating a large motorboat and a large sailboat is akin to the difference between a truck and an airplane. Before making such a large investment and life changing experience, at least find out if you even like sailing in the first place.